When I was… I remember…

This post is inspired by a few of Kean Jie’s tweet on Twitter that starts with When I was… I remember…, which also happens to be the title of today’s post! So yea, in this post, basically you will be watching me as I grow up to who I am today and the friends that I’ve made along the way and with some meaningful stuff for me that reminded me of that particular year. Here we go :

When I was 1 years old, I don’t remember anything at all and everyone who knew me when I was a baby told me that I was extremely adorable and cute and this photo proves it all! 

This is me, on my 2nd birthday =P.

When I was 2 years old, I still don’t remember anything and I don’t even remember this photo being taken and my dad told me that I was quite shy when I was young . Wait, does he simply means that I am very tak tau malu now?!?! 

When I was 3 years old,I remember that Cassandra was born and I went to the hospital to see her. Actually, I don’t remember it at all but suddenly, I remembered seeing myself there as I am typing this post.

Samantha, Cassandra, Ferlynne

When I was 4 years old, I remember pretending to go to school with Ferlynne and I remembered that the staircase at home, is the school bus! Hahaha ! I remember this very well because later on, I started kindergarten! =D

My sisters and I with my dad.

When I was 5 years old, I remember my first best friend and her name is Hing Tze Wei and I still remember that I liked her very much and even till today, I smile when I thought of her because we were really, really close. Then I also remembered Chong Woon Yee who then went to the same primary school as me till we graduated from Convent together in 2007. Also, I remembered playing Polly Pockets, Lego and Barbie Dolls with my sisters and neighbour!

Neo Pei Yee and I!!!

When I was 6 years old, I remember sitting in between Hing Tze Wei and Neo Pei Yee! I even remembered once, the boys who are sitting in front of us threw something at us and Neo got so angry that she said to me:

Faster take your pencil case and throw at them before teacher comes back!

And we both threw our pencil cases at the boys sitting in front of us! Hahaha!! You may wonder why do I remember it so well and it is all because Neo told me:

Remember, we threw our pencil case at them and they got scolding from teacher.

Just one word- Remember and I remember it all. This happens to be the same year where I remembered my kindergarten teacher told me that I will be going to a different school from Hing Tze Wei and honestly, I was quite upset but at the same time, I was still confuse.

Ferlynne, Samantha and Cassandra at Sydney.

When I was 7 years old, I remember playing getah with Amanda, Elaine, Revati, Aina and Dianne! That year as well, I remembered that my parents told me that if I can get top 3 in class, they’ll bring all of us to Australia and I didn’t even know where is Australia back then but the heck of it, if it means flying on an aeroplane, I’ll go for it! 

And that year, I actually got number 3 in class but during English class, when the teacher asked us to check our answer in our exam paper, one of the word, I spelt it wrongly but the teacher marked me right and I owned up and I got number 4 that year. You wanna know what word was that? Hehe… It is chocolate and I spelt it as chocalate because that is how I pronounce it back then .

But still, we went to Australia because that trip was planned months ago and it also means, whether I get top 3 or not, it doesn’t matter because we still get to go Australia, so I guess, what my parents told me was some kind of motivation [Was I so lazy back then?!?! ].

Ferlynne, Cassandra, Samantha.

When I was 8 years old, I remember going to Bukit Jalil for the Commonwealth Games and I pestered my dad to buy me a storybook there and that storybook is title is Mulan. Hehe! And I still remember that it is a picture of Mulan riding her black horse on the front page ! Oh yes, and now I remember that I enjoy listening to Spice Girls and Britney Spears back then but I think I am around 7-9 years old =|… Can’t really remember this =X.

Samantha, Ferlynne, Cassandra.

When I was 9 years old, I remember that I scored my first B in exam and it was for Mathematics somemore and I was upset. Because that year, I aimed to sit for PTS and Convent will select only the good students to sit for PTS. Also, one of the requirement to be able to be selected for PTS is that our Mathematics, Bahasa Malaysia and English must score an A.

I remember that I was quite disappointed because I think I was 1-2 marks away from A. But nevertheless, I was still selected to sit for PTS but I did not pass PTS. Hehe! 

One of my favourite soft toy and I! I couldn’t find any photo of me when I was 10-11 years old  that I scanned in anywhere in my computer so just stare at my cute face here =P.

When I was 10 years old, I remember sitting in Moral classes with Wei Qi and Hui En and we played a lot of games. It was the very same year where I got myself a pair of spectacles and I hated it that I would never wear it in school. I would take my chair and move to the front just to copy notes.

It was the very same year, where Encik Ng was my class teacher and he scolded me day and night for not completing up my Mathematics homework [Hahaha!!! ].

When I was 11 years old, I remember sitting next to Chuah Jia Ni and I dislike this two girls a lot but too bad, I was forced to face them till I was Form 5 and that sucks. It was in this year as well, I first met Ee Jane and Zaharah. And Ee Jane freaked me out and you can read all about it here.

Cassandra, Samantha, Ferlynne. I KNOW I look ugly but this is me back in 2002 T____T…

When I was 12 years old, I remember sitting beside Sze Jun Li in class and I sat for UPSR this year and I scored straight A’s but that certificate means nothing at all now. Looking back, I don’t like my standard 4-6 life.

When I was 13 years old, I remember sitting beside Ee Jane and this is when, Encik Ng was my class teacher again and starting from this year and for the rest of my life, on report card day, I was complained upside down by the teachers with the same repeated comments:

Very talkative, very lazy and very stubborn.

And this three traits, were stuck to me till today +_+… Also, I started playing RO this year and completely neglected my studies and this, is the first turning point of my life, for the worse.

Ee Jane and I in 2004.

When I was 14 years old, I remember only Ee Jane and no one else because in school, I only talk to her =P. At that time, Zaharah don’t really like me and I don’t even remember why now =X…

Samantha, Cassandra, Ferlynne.

When I was 15 years old, I remember sitting for PMR and doing History and Geography PMR projects and it was all last minute work and I wondered how did I scraped through A’s for all seven subjects. And the last thing that I ever remembered was, getting the first place for the slideshow presentation for Science month in school! Hahaha! 

December 2005 will always remind me of one of my best friend, James Lee because this is when, we first became friends and quickly, we became best friends and I remember the way we met and it is simply, one of the best one ever .

In 2005, something happened in the middle of the year but I am not sharing it here but I can just say that it is the second turning point of my life, for the better =)…

Ee Jane, Samantha.

When I was 16 years old, I remember on the first day of class, I was extremely annoyed with Ai Leng because she kept on interrupting me when I am talking to Ee Jane. I still remember vividly how we sat at the badminton court and they called out our names according to our new classes and Ee Jane, Ai Leng, Sin Yee, Zaharah, Ching Yin and I were in the same class together.

The songs that will always remind me of 2006 are songs from Jolin Tsai [Tian Kong] and JJ Lin [Sha Shi Bi Ya De Tian Fen, Chi Pang, Hai Pa and Rang Wo Xin Dong De Ren] =)…

只能用笑容期待著雨過天晴的彩虹

Part of the lyrics from Tian Kong by Jolin Tsai that never fails to cheer me up back in 2006 =)...

And you are gonna hate me as soon as I say this: This is the year, I fell in love with Wang Lee Hom <3… =D… Hehe!

Ching Yin, Jia Yi, Samantha and Wen Yee at Metro Point on the first day it was opened.

When I was 17 years old, I remember that I sat for SPM and it was all last minute studying again and this time, I wasn’t that lucky like how I was for my PMR. I remembered in 2007, Ee Jane and I had the longest cold war ever with each other. Also, I remember attending Ai Leng’s birthday party that year where Ee Jane and I saw another “friend” doing something else behind Ching Yin’s back =|…

The song Bleeding Love by Leona Lewis will always remind me of 2007 because I fell in love with this song when I heard it on the radio =)… But honestly, the year 2007 reminded me the most of Ching Yin along with the song True Colours by Maggie Reilly.

Apart from everything mentioned above, 2007 too reminded me of Girl Guides and how much I hated it when they make us do stupid stuff like horseshoe line up or whatever under the hot sun. Ee Jane, Ching Yin and I will always sign our attendance and we will then run off to hang out around Kajang town and buy a lot of cutesy ribbons and eat asam laksa every Friday at Old Apex all without Wong Ai Leng who has to be in school as the president of Tae Kwan Doe and Zaharah who is too afraid to run away from Girl Guide meetings =P.

Us, in full baju loreng =X…

When I was 18 years old, I remember that I attended National Service and you can read all about it here and here. National Service is an unforgettable memory for me, in a good way of course. It has changed me a lot, for the good and for the bad.

And in National Service as well, I experienced the third turning point of my life, for both the good and the bad and some of the concepts that I’ve learnt in National Service, were some of the concepts that I still hold on tightly till this very millisecond. When I returned from National Service, I can feel that, I am somewhat already a different person that I have to take some time off to know myself again.

In 2008 as well, it is when I first entered Form 6 as a Lower 6 student and it is also when I moved away from all my Convent best friends [None of them went with me to Form 6] and I felt so attached to all of them that I rejected everyone and everything in KHS because I missed all of them so, so much.

Back then, when I saw them with new friends and that they are happy with their new environment, deep down I was quite upset because it seems like I was forgotten but somewhat, I was happy for them because I wanted them to be happy too and I wish them all the best but I still, hold them close to my heart and life because they are all very dear to me in many ways.

The song that will always remind me of 2008 is Way Back Into Love by Hugh Grant and Haley Bennett. Overall, I don’t really like the year 2008.

Wei Qi, Sam, Sin Yee and Caitlynn at the bowling alley.

When I was 19 years old, I remember that I did many things that I have never tried before and my life officially dramatized itself throughout the year. I remember more people in 2009 [Wei Qi, Kean Jie, LeiKen, Prakash, Ee Hahn and Chen Wai], I’ve made more new friends and lost some friends here and there too. I began to enjoy my life more than ever in Form 6 and I learnt how to appreciate what people have done for me and to not be too attached to anyone in Form 6.

Also, in 2009, there is a fourth turning point in my life and it is the biggest turning point in my life for now. So many changes took place and it made me realize that, I am really, really already a different person than who I am back in 2007 and 2008 but, I realize that I am always the same Samantha back in 2007 whenever I am with my best friends =D.

Wei Qi with her face expression of – Haiyo, you don’t siao la!

The year 2009 is the most memorable year for me and it happens to be, the year that I enjoyed myself the most and I love my life back in 2009. In 2009, I was traumatized badly by many incidents but I am glad that I always have Wei Qi by my side to always listen to me and Kean Jie to cheer me up at times by telling me to think more rationally.

There are too many things to write and to remember about in 2009, both the good and the bad. 2009 is the best time of my life in this 20 years but sadly, it has come to an end. I felt like crying even by typing this, because as I thought about when I was 19 years old, it flashes back to where I first ignored Wei Qi because I hated/disliked her so much and then how I began to take liking in her later on because she is such a nice and sincere friend to have! And we did many things together in 2009 and the best one definitely goes to our graduation slideshow! [You can read all about our graduation here and watch the graduation video here, at the end the post]

Ee Hahn [Take that – TWIN PEAKS! Now you know I feel when you suddenly SMS-ed me about TWIN PEAKS!] and I after school while waiting for my bus.

Then, it flashes back to Ee Hahn, where we first talked to each other and how pissed off I was with him because of his extreme stupidity and how I decided to not talk to him anymore. It goes back to when he said stupid stuff about me in school that made me angrier and hurt me a lot in many ways.

But I guess, it is all over now and it is a miracle that we are still friends till today. And I am glad that he is way smarter than he was last time now after being slapped by my words countless time +_+… Or else, I don’t think I even wanna talk to him! Oh and not to forget, we are always chit chatting with each other like nobody’s business an hour before every exam about what are we going to do after exam =X… Aiyo… What are we doing in school la!! 

Prakash and his 1 gazillion dollar smile.

It then goes back to when Prakash and I became closer to each other during the mid year holiday with much thanks to Mathematics T Paper 1 PLC anyway. I have no regrets knowing/befriending this guy although I disliked him initially but he is an amazing person to be friends with. But some things, happened for the best so yea, I’ll accept that.

The two songs, I’m Yours and Lucky by Jason Mraz has always reminded me of this friend and that songs, are still stuck inside my mp3 player. But I guess, what I miss now is not that same person anymore, but the good times and memories that I have.

Kean Jie – Ponteng kelas sama-sama pergi Ayza makan =P.

When it comes to Kean Jie, all I can remember is I felt extremely happy and joyful when I see him smiling . I don’t know why, but it makes me smile to see him being happy. Although he may seems ignorant at times but to me, deep down he is like my guardian angel who will always slap me till I wake up if I am dreaming for a long time about things that I shouldn’t even be thinking/bothering or be sad about.

One of the advices that he gave me this year is this and I still keep it in my inbox till today:

There’s a point in your life where you get tired of chasing everyone and fixing everything. It is not giving up.. It is realizing that you don’t need certain people in your life, the drama and bullshit they bring.

Very well said and meaningful in many ways . A song that will always remind me of the year 2009 is Happy by Leona Lewis, Terlanjur Cinta by Rossa and most importantly, all the graduation songs in the graduation video, especially Whenever You Remember by Carrie Underwood =)…

Chen Wai, I knew him in 2009 on a trip to Sunway Pyramid with the Bowling Club and you can read all about it here. Whenever it rains, the song Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head by B. J. Thomas will start playing in my head and somewhat, I am always reminded of him and I will smile to myself unconsciously .

In 2009, I remember passing by his class, smiling at him and laughing away with Wei Qi and/or Sin Yee after that on the way to the girls’ toilet and I also remember that I skipped Pengajian Am classes and he skipped his P.E. lessons and we both sat in class together, trying to talk or do something beneficial, but we ended up just sitting there, keeping quiet all the time.

But for everything that had happened, I have chosen to give thanks and I thank you for everything. Some things can never be the same again and I must not hold on to it anymore no matter how much I wanted to hold on to this friendship that once matters a lot to me.

Samantha, Vicky, Cassandra, Olivia.

Now, I am 20 years old and I have yet to say – When I was 20 years old, I remember… Because I am still 20 years old. But nevertheless, I still miss 2009; the year that was full with drama and unexpected twist and turn at every corner that I take.

Although 2010 was a peaceful and calm year with some surprises here and there, but I cannot help it but to miss the memories and people that I’ve met in 2009. I guess, I am somewhat attached to the memories that I still, smile, laugh and feel some tears stinging my eyes as I remembered some of the good times in 2009.

~*~

I still have that same huge eyes, round face, cute nose and sexy lips =P.

I grew up listening to Spice Girls and Britney Spears and I grew up playing Barbie Dolls, Polly Pockets, Lego and many other games but I grew out of it all and this is all part of me growing up and leaving the past behind. But I thank God that when I look back, I had a good time, especially in 2009. Thank you God, for everything and everyone in 2009, the amazing yet dramatic year of all =).

May 2011 be a better year for all of us and that, we will make our life as meaningful as possible in 2011. I wish all of you the best in 2011 and please, the year will be 2011 and don’t write 2010 anymore like what I always did =P. Hehe! Have a blessed and Happy New Year in a few more hours [Today is going to be known as last year really, really soon!] ! 

11 responses to “When I was… I remember…

  1. I rate 5 stars for this post!

  2. Ee Hahn: thank you!! 😀

  3. Ee Jane: yes yes T______T

  4. Otak kau sexy lips.honestly, u looked Super (fav word now) different till 9yrs old. After that never change de..makin sampat adalah..
    Reduce your sampat-ness and be natural =P

  5. My super cute baby sam as ever!! Walao, your blog post reminds me much of what we did back then, especially on Friday afternoon!

  6. Wa Kean Jie, so harsh le.

  7. hey!! i gotta say u got an AWESOME memory!! lol, i don even remember most of my frens name back then in primary skool! and, yeaaa, to KJ’s comment! u look jz like u now starting from 9 yrs old lol. nothing changed much, got laaa more matured and all… the fav pic of all, ur 3rd pic in this post!! looks so random and candidd!! love it~ overal, nice post wei~ haha

  8. Can’t agree more with ur AWESOME memory!! u left out 2010 where u 1st work as promoter n did lots of sampat thg with Pikteng (genting trip)!
    U looks super adorable yea, till NINE only.. so, dun claim urself as miss Adorable anymore! XP maybe u can change to miss sexy lips or sumthg! hahahaha!
    nice touching post! XD

  9. the picture of you in red lipstick… epic. hahahaha 😛

  10. Kean Jie: it is sexy~! T_____T *prasan* :D… ! haih, kalau bukan sampat tu… bukanlah samantha lagi =P !!

    Ching Yin: i hate to see students in pinafore on friday afternoons because they made me feel so nostalgic T____T…

    Ee Hahn: harsh? O.o ?

    Brian: ah thank you thank you! 😀 i remembered more events actually but im afraid that it will be too lengthy =P maybe one day, when the inspiration comes, i’ll blog about it in a post on its own 😀 of course the 3rd photo its nice… because its me in it :D… =P

    Wei Qi: 2010 is when i am 20 years old le, till i turn 21 first =P ! no!! no matter what, i am miss adorable and the queen of lebihness :D:D !!

    Helen: epic like always kan =P !!

Leave a Reply

